Governor Moore Announces Three Maryland Stadium Authority Board Nominations

Published: 2/17/2023

ANNAPOLIS, MD — Today, Governor Wes Moore announced three nominations to the Maryland Stadium Authority board: Craig Thompson, Yolanda Maria Martinez, and Lee Coplan, with Thompson nominated to serve as board chair. The nominations are part of the Governor’s “Green Bag” list which includes more than 300 candidates for state boards and commissions. Thompson would begin his service as chair upon Senate confirmation, replacing outgoing Chair Thomas Kelso. Martinez and Coplan are nominated for terms beginning on July 1, 2023. 

“I am proud to nominate Craig, Maria, and Lee to serve on the Maryland Stadium Authority board. With backgrounds spanning law, negotiation, entrepreneurship, and planning and design, they will bring a wealth of expertise and valuable perspectives to the Stadium Authority, said Governor Moore. “The MSA has important work on its agenda this year, including establishing a new long-term partnership with the Baltimore Orioles and implementing the state’s $400 million investment in the Blue Line Corridor. I am confident that these nominees are the right people for the job.”

“I am honored to be nominated by Governor Moore to serve in this critical role,” said Mr. Thompson. I look forward to meeting with members of the Senate, and if confirmed, I am excited to partner with the talented MSA staff and board, including Chair Kelso, to advance the organization’s mission for the people of Maryland.”

Craig Thompson is a well-known and experienced trial attorney and partner at Venable LLP, and serves on the firm’s board. Through his litigation practice he has represented clients in state and federal courts across the country. He has also negotiated the resolution of numerous matters, developing an approach to the profession that is both assertive and respectful. Thompson has been involved in the Maryland community for years, and is currently the Chair of the Board of Trustees of the University of Maryland College Park Foundation. He has also served on the boards of the University of Maryland Children's Hospital, McDonogh School and the Baltimore Leadership School for Young Women. He earned two B.A. degrees from the University of Maryland College Park and a J.D. from the University of Maryland Carey School of Law. 

Yolanda Maria Martinez is an entrepreneur, community leader, and philanthropist. With the support of a women’s entrepreneurship program, in 2001 Martinez started a respiratory sleep medicine healthcare company - Respira - which grew into a successful multimillion-dollar organization. She is currently the Chief Strategy Officer at Project Enhancement Corporation, an environmental, health, safety, and national security firm serving the federal government nationwide. Martinez has served on numerous boards and commissions from the local to the national level. She is a former Chair of the Baltimore Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, the Maryland Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, and the Governor's Commission on Hispanic Affairs. 

Lee Coplan is a founding member and Chief Executive Officer of Hord Coplan Macht, which has grown to become the largest architecture firm headquartered in Maryland with a national practice focusing on healthcare, housing and education. Under his leadership, the firm has designed major renovations and expansions for the University of Maryland Medical System, the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, and other healthcare institutions. Coplan was inducted into the American Institute of Architects College of Fellows in 2020. He serves on the boards of LifeBridge Health, the Aaron Straus and Lillie Straus Foundation, and the Board of Visitors of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.​