Skip to Main Content

Commission to Study Mental and Behavioral Health in Maryland

In January 2019, Lt. Governor Rutherford announced Executive Order 01.01.2019.02, signed by Governor Hogan, establishing the Commission to Study Mental and Behavioral Health in Maryland. The commission, which will be chaired by Lt. Governor Rutherford, has been tasked with studying mental health in Maryland, including access to mental health services and the link between mental health issues and substance use disorders.  The commission includes representatives from each branch of state government, representatives from the state departments of Health, Public Safety and Correctional Services, and Human Services, as well as the Maryland State Police, the Maryland Insurance Administration, the Opioid Operational Command Center, and six members of the public with experience related to mental health.

Click here to view the full list of commission members.

Check back for more information on the Commission to Study Mental and Behavioral Health in Maryland, including upcoming meetings and the progress of the commission.

Past Meetings:

Commission Kick-Off Meeting – Tuesday, March 19, 2019 – Annapolis, MD 21401
Agenda | PowerPoint

Upcoming Meetings:

Baltimore Meeting – Tuesday, April 30, 2019, 4:30 – 6:30 PM – CBEIS Atrium, Morgan State University, 5201 Perring Parkway Baltimore, MD 21214
*More information to follow*