Skip to Content Accessibility Information

The Office of Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford

PHOTO RELEASE: Lt. Governor Rutherford Presents the Inaugural Governor’s Awards for Disability Culture and Achievements 

ANNAPOLIS, MD—Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford and Maryland Department of Disabilities Secretary Carol Beatty presented the inaugural Governor’s Awards for Disability Culture and Achievements to four winners at a ceremony in Howard County. The winners of the award for Disability Culture are Darren Guest, an artist (presented posthumously) and Sarah Stup, an author. The winners of the awards for Disability Achievements are Ken Capone and Janice Jackson. Both Mr. Capone and Ms. Jackson are advocates and community leaders.


“It was my honor to present these awards to Marylanders who are truly making a difference,” said Lt. Governor Rutherford. “We thank them for their service and dedication to the disability community and our entire state.”

The awards were created to celebrate Governor Hogan’s 2021 executive order making every July “Disability Culture and Achievements Month” in Maryland, which coincides with the anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) on July 26th.


“We are proud to uplift these outstanding Marylanders as part of our Disability Culture and Achievements Month celebration,” said Governor Hogan. “Their contributions and advocacy enrich our whole community.”


The Maryland Department of Disabilities and the Maryland Developmental Disabilities Council sponsor the awards to recognize the outstanding achievements of Marylanders with disabilities in our state.

“Representation matters,” said Secretary Beatty. “Lifting the voices and accomplishments of Marylanders with disabilities allows others to see their own value and dream big.”