Skip to Content Accessibility Information

The Office of Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford

Photo Release: Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford Honors Black History Month Leadership & Service Awards Recipients

ANNAPOLIS, MD—Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford today joined the Governor’s Office on Service & Volunteerism to honor the award recipients of the Black History Month Leadership & Service Awards, in celebration of Black History Month.


“I am pleased to recognize hard work and unwavering dedication from the best volunteers in the nation and seek with you to educate citizens about the significance of the African American experience in Maryland,” said Lt. Governor Rutherford. “Thank you for carrying on the legacy of Maryland’s great heroes and addressing community needs.”

The annual program celebrates and recognizes Maryland-based, African American-founded organizations or groups of volunteers that demonstrate commitment and dedication to changing Maryland for the better.

2020 Black History Month Leadership & Service Awardees were recognized with the Senator Verda Freeman Welcome Legacy Award.

Senator Welcome was the first female African American state senator in Maryland. In 1969, she established the Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture. Governor Hogan proclaimed 2020 as the Year of the Woman in honor of female leaders such as Senator Verda Freeman Welcome and “the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th amendment, which gave women the right to vote.”


See the complete list of recipients and click here to read more about how they have made an impact on our communities:

  1. BAAM – Building African American Minds (Easton)
  2. Community Projects of Havre de Grace – Committee for Ernest Burke Statue (Harford County)
  3. Family Survivor Network (Baltimore)
  4. Frederick Douglass Honor Society (Easton)
  5. Griots’ Circle of Maryland Inc. Growing Griots’ Literacy Learning Program (Baltimore City)
  6. J.O.Y. Baltimore (Baltimore City)
  7. Known as Monique (Baltimore)
  8. The Brownsville Project (Frostburg)
  9. The Safe Ride Foundation (Frederick)
  10. Unified Committee for Afro-American Contributions (St. Mary’s County)