Skip to Content Accessibility Information


Meet Maryland’s Redistricting Reform Commission

Our administration has brought together a knowledgeable bipartisan panel of citizens who will study this issue and recommend a new process for establishing fair election districts. Meet Maryland’s Redistricting Reform Commission Members:

Alexander Williams, Jr., (co-chair) is a retired United States District Judge, a former elected State’s Attorney for Prince George’s County, and has been widely recognized as a leading civic leader in Maryland and beyond.

Walter Olson (co-chair), a Frederick County resident, is a senior fellow with the Cato Institute, a Washington, D.C. nonprofit research institution and the author of four books and many other writings on law, government, and public policy.

Dr. Michael J. Goff is President and CEO of the Northeast-Midwest Institute, a nonpartisan research, policy, and education organization. He also serves on the board of directors of Common Cause Maryland, a leading advocate for redistricting reform. He is also adjunct professor of political science at George Washington University.

Tessa Hill-Aston is president of the Baltimore City Branch of the NAACP, where she has built and grown partnerships between local government, businesses, and religious and community leaders. For more than 25 years, Ms. Hill-Aston has been a prominent voice for social change and equality, in the effort to build a better Baltimore.

Christopher B. Summers is founder and president of the Maryland Public Policy Institute, one of Maryland’s leading public-policy think tanks. A native of Baltimore City and veteran of the Armed Forces, Mr. Summers has an extensive background in public policy and economic policy research.

Ashley Oleson is Administrator for the League of Women Voters of MD. The League of Women Voters has been a leading voice calling for redistricting reform and educating voters about the issue.

Carol Ramirez is a Georgetown University graduate and 25 year resident of Bethesda, with a wide-ranging background as a small business owner, banker and volunteer and leader in local community, school and church organizations.

Sen. Joan Carter Conway, Baltimore City, chair of Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee, appointed by the Senate President Mike Miller.

Sen. Steve Waugh, St. Mary’s and Calvert, member of Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee, appointed by Senate Minority Leader J.B. Jennings.

Del. Alonzo Washington, Prince George’s, member of Ways and Means Committee, appointed by the Speaker of the House Michael Busch.

Del. Jason Buckel, Allegany, member of Ways and Means Committee, appointed by the House Minority Leader Nic Kipke.