Skip to Content Accessibility Information


Governor Larry Hogan Signs Emergency Legislation Creating Regional WMATA Compact

Joins Virginia, D.C. to Establish Washington Metrorail Safety Commission

ANNAPOLIS, MD – Governor Larry Hogan today signed emergency legislation creating a compact between Maryland, Virginia, and Washington, D.C. to create a new safety oversight commission for the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA). The governor was joined by Senate President Thomas V. “Mike” Miller, House Speaker Mike Busch, and Montgomery County legislators Senator Brian Feldman, Senator Cheryl Kagan, Delegate Kumar Barve, and Delegate Alfred Carr.

“Collaboration between Maryland, Virginia, and Washington, D.C. is crucial to ensure the safety and security of WMATA,” said Governor Hogan.  “I would like to thank Governor McAuliffe and Mayor Bowser for their partnership in an oversight commission that will help make sure that millions of Metro riders have access to a world-class public transportation system.”

The legislation, which was filed as an emergency Maryland Department of Transportation departmental bill, officially establishes the Washington Metrorail Safety Commission and the Metrorail Safety Commission Interstate Compact granting the Commission specified safety, regulatory, and enforcement authority over the WMATA system.

The creation of the compact is contingent upon passage of identical legislation in Virginia and the District of Columbia. The Washington, D.C. City Council passed the legislation in December 2016 and the Virginia General Assembly passed it in March 2017.



Press Release Archives