Skip to Main Content


Live Streaming Video

  • No dates present

Subscribe for email alerts


Governor Martin O’Malley Announces Appointments to the Maryland Center for School Safety Governing Board

ANNAPOLIS, MD  – Governor Martin O’Malley today  announced the appointments of Lorig Charkoudian, Ph.D., Theresa E. Detorie, Valerie S. Carr, and Elizabeth Watson Ray to the Maryland Center for School Safety Governing Board. Additionally, the Governor appointed State Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Lillian Lowery, as chair.  These appointments are effective today, July 15, 2013.

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of these highly-skilled and talented individuals to the Maryland Center for School Safety Governing Board,” said Governor O’Malley. “I am confident that they each possess the experience and leadership necessary to ensure that every child in Maryland can learn in a safe environment and receive the quality public education they deserve.”

The Maryland Center for School Safety was created by the General Assembly in 2013 and approved by the Governor on May 2, 2013 to work with all public school and law enforcement stakeholders to ensure a comprehensive approach to school safety, including disseminating information on best practices, providing training and technical assistance, and gathering meaningful data on school safety issues. The Governing Board will develop a plan to phase in establishment and operation of the Center; provide general oversight and direction to the Center; and approve the annual budget for the Center.

The four members of the public appointed by the Governor include a parent of a public school student, a representative of a nonpublic school, and a representative of school bus drivers. The fourth member is undesignated. The Governing Board will also include seven other members from the following Maryland agencies and organizations: the offices of the State Superintendent of Schools, the Secretary of State Police, the Attorney General, the Department of Disabilities, the Public School Superintendents’ Association of Maryland and a representative of the Maryland Association of Boards of Education.  The State Superintendent of Schools will appoint a school psychologist or sociologist.

Parent of a Public School Student
Lorig Charkoudian, Ph.D., is Co-Founder and Executive Director of Community Mediation Maryland. She has 20 years of experience in conflict resolution and mediation and has a direct connection to the programs currently providing conflict resolution programs in schools throughout the State.  She earned a B.A. in Mathematical Economics from Pomona College in California, an M.A. in Economics and a Ph.D. in Economics from Johns Hopkins University where her dissertation was an Economic Analysis of Inter-Personal Conflict and Community Mediation. She has been published in Conflict Resolutions Quarterly and the American Bar Association Dispute Resolution Magazine and she participated in the Leadership Maryland Class of 2011.  She resides in Montgomery County where her children attend a public elementary school. Dr. Charkoudian also volunteers with the PTA, the Girl Scouts and the Takoma Park Silver Spring Food Co-operative.

Representative of a Nonpublic School
Theresa E. Detorie serves as the Director of Security at the Bryn Mawr School for Girls. In this position she has developed, supervised and implemented security plans, emergency, crisis and disaster plans and worked with neighborhood associations to address mutual issues.  She also previously served as Athletic Director for Bryn Mawr. She earned a B.S. in Physical Education, Cum Laude, from Salisbury State College and an M.S. in Secondary and Physical Education from Towson State University. In addition to her teaching and coaching responsibilities, she has also done curriculum development in conjunction with The Montclair Kimberley Academy.  Ms. Detorie resides in Baltimore City.

Representative of School Bus Drivers
Valerie S. Carr is a School Bus Driver with 25 years of experience with the Prince George’s County Public Schools Transportation Department.  She is a graduate of Atholton High School and studied business at Howard County Community College.  She previously served as a bookkeeper for a local construction company.  Ms. Carr is a resident of Anne Arundel County.

Undesignated public member
Elizabeth Watson Ray is a Special Education Teacher at Aberdeen Middle School. At Aberdeen Middle School, she has served on the School Improvement Team and the School Business Parent Partnership Committee and been active in a mentoring program called Sisterhood in Growth.  Prior to her work as a teacher, she worked for the Carroll County Department of Social Services and for the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services as a Correctional Officer in both the Baltimore Pre-release Unit and at the Maryland State Penitentiary.  She earned a B.S. in Criminal Justice/Special Education from Coppin State University and an M.A. in Special Education from the College of Notre Dame of Maryland.  Ms. Ray is a resident of Harford County.

Tags: , , , , , , ,